20-24 February 2013
  • News /
  • About 260 riders from 35 countries

About 260 riders from 35 countries
will perform at the World Championship

20 Feb 2013

Today the Track Cycling World Championship opens at the Minsk-Arena velodrome. About 260 riders from 35 countries will perform at this event.

It is the first time when Belarus hosts the world forum in Olympic sport. It will be the first track cycling world championship in a new Olympic cycle so there will be a lot of promising riders with a view to 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in many teams.

In particular a new generation of riders will be presented in Minsk by the team of Great Britain that prevailed at the Olympic Games in London in 2012 and won 7 gold medals out of 10. Two-time Olympic champion (2008, 2012) from Great Britain, Victoria Pendleton, who is about to end her career, will not participate as well as another famous rider, six-time Olympic champion, 36 year-old Chris Choy, who has paused his career but will probably perform at the Commonwealth Games in 2014.

But even without them the national team of Great Britain is impressive. The new stars, the champions of the Olympic Games in London Jason Kenny, Philip Hindess, Laura Trott and Danielle King are going to perform in Minsk.

Although traditionally good team from Australia will perform without two-time Olympic champion Anna Meares, it will bid to win some gold medals in Minsk.

Chinese riders Shuang Guo and Jinjie Gong who won three medals (two silver and bronze) in London are looking forward to victory.

The riders from France, Germany and New Zealand are also among the leaders.

The largest team will come from Russia - there are 31 sportsmen. It is twice as much as in British or Australian team (16).

Belarus will field 11 sportsmen. In women competition our country will be represented by four riders: Oksana Popko, Elena Dylko, Olga Masyukovich and Anna Gulik. They will perform in six disciplines. Oksana Popko, Elena Dylko, Olga Masyukovich will participate in team pursuit, Oksana Popko will participate in scratch, Elena Dylko will participate in points race and Olga Masyukovich will participate in omnium. Anna Gulik from Brest will compete in sprint and keirin. There are 7 sportsmen and 4 disciplines in Belarusian competition entry. Alexander Lisovsky (World champion 2008), Oleg Agievich, Eugeniy Shamsonov, Roman Romanov, Andrey Snitko (odd participant) will participate in team pursuit. Roman Tishkov will take part in omnium, Anton Muzychkin will participate in scratch and Roman Romanov will take part in points race.

The leaders of Belarusian national woman team will not perform at home world championship. Olga Panarina is currently under medical treatment at the institute of neurosurgery. The UCI is still investigating Tatiana Sharakova’s positive doping probe at the Europe championship 2012 in Panevėžys, Lithuania, Tatiana Sharakova, Oksana Popko and Elena Dylko won the gold medal in team pursuit.

19 set of medals will be given during the championship (10 in man competitions and 9 in woman competitions).

Today, during the first day of the championship, 4 sets of medals will be won: man time trial, woman individual pursuit, woman team sprint and man team pursuit.

The ceremonial opening will start today at 18:30.

The World Championship will extend till February, 24. On 20-23 of February day competition sessions will start at 13:00, evening sessions – at 19:00. On the final day, February, 24, the competitions will start at 10:00 and 14:00.


© Belarusian Cycling Federation, 2012